I Spy Ornament!

I SPY Ornament EY

I know, I know it’s been for-eva since I posted. I re-started my professional organizing business here in NM and became a Stella and Dot Stylist, so needless to say, my blogging fun died down a bi. BUT, I am becoming more balanced now! Phew.

Last year, we had a snow day here in Albuquerque. Say what? I know, right. Snow…Albuquerque? But, it does snow a bit here and when it snows a bunch, the whole city shuts down and everyone is in a panic. Case in point. We woke up here in the Tracy household on said “snow day” and were bundled up and ready to go at the bus stop. We, however, began to wonder why no one else was at the bus stop with us. Hmmmm…… Turns out school had been cancelled. Friends asked, “Why didn’t you check your email or the news??” Ummm, because we moved her only five months ago and in good ol’ Massachusetts this would NEVER, and I mean NEVER, qualify as a snow day so the thought of checking to see if wether or not we had school, NEVER crossed my mind.

Ok back to being home on said chilly snow day. Being that we were up and ready so early in the day, we invited our friends to an impromptu cookie and ornament making day at our house!

Ugh, so glad I changed out that rug.

The I Spy ornaments we created were, however, my favorite part of the day! I purchased empty clear balls from Michaels and had the kiddos pick out the items to add to them. Note: I didn’t think about it at the time of purchase but the opening of the large ornament is quite small so certain items we purchased, didn’t fit (for example, see snowman in pic).

I had thought to use a teeny-styrofoam-ball filling however, it clung to all the items we put in and you could never get a clear look at what you were spying for. So, we scratched that and used white rice. It works great and it is so much less messy than the styrofoam!

And of course we sipped on some of this 🙂

Mmmm….peppermint hot chocolate.

Have you tried this fun ornament?

”Holiday

Comments

  1. Love it! Thank you for an awesome idea to get me through the holiday break! almost three weeks long!

  2. B’s teacher did this at the beginning of the school year. All the kids had to make one in a water bottle. They trade around so that no one has their own. I was amazed at how long my kids played with it and they knew what was in it!

  3. Thanks for sharing your info. I truly appreciate your efforts and I am waiting for your further write ups
    thanks once again.

Leave a comment