V is for Vowels!

V is for Vowels

So I have to be honest, I was at a loss when trying to come up wit a V this year so when I thought of Vowels, well I just kind of settled. And then, as lesson day approached, I became nervous. I would be introducing the concept to B as a to-be kindergartner but how would I present this to the older kiddos and make it fun and a learning experience?!? Well, this was one of those days where I was pleasantly surprised at the outcome of the lesson; some lessons I know will be home runs whereas others…well. To my delight, everyone had a blast and learned too!

We started off the day with circle and a book as usual. This book seemed really good in theory and the idea is cute. I believe the message was received by the kiddos however it was ridiculously challenging to read. Check it out of your local library and see what I’m talking about 🙂

IMG_1520

We changed up the order of activities today! I had found a video through You Tube that tied in with a craft and both together were the perfect introduction/re-introduction to the basic vowels! First up was the craft. I have to admit they were all kind of confused as to why we were making 5 bats and adding vowels to them but like most kids their age, they ate up the tracing, cutting, and stickers!

V for Vowel Bat Creation

V for Vowels Indiv Bats

So the Vowel Bat song by Shari Sloane (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g43EfOXvpG8) that I had them use the stick bats for seems a bit silly and hokey, but they LOVED it. I mean, play-it-over-and-over-again L.O.V.E.D it. They sang the song loud and held up the appropriate vowel bat with each part of the song. They were singing this song long into the day. I will say- it was catchy!

V for Vowel Song Time

Still singing, we headed to the kitchen for a search and find vowels snack! I was at a loss for a snack and considered serving foods that started with vowels but found it just too hard to pull together. Then, the alphabet cookies came to mind and boom, perfect!

IMG_1537

V for Vowel Snack Collage

Bats in hand, they headed back upstairs to work on their work sheets for the Letter V and Vowels!

IMG_1560

V for Vowels Ben Worksheets

V for Vowels Worksheets

We wrapped up the day with a Vowel Digraph board game that I found on Boggles World (http://bogglesworldesl.com/voweldigraphgame.htm). I attached the print outs to a larger board, created game pieces by simply writing out the vowel letters and attaching them to bases I’ve used all summer long (I think from a colorforms set :P).  The kiddos had fun playing and really helped the younger three understand digraphs (and a great refresher for the older two).

V for Vowel Game Board

So all in all, what I feared would be a boring and lame lesson turned out to be one of their favorites…go figure!

shannon

Leave a Reply

