Tame Those Small Card Games!

While browsing one of my favorite blogs, I Heart Organizing, I came across Jen using a travel sized Q-Tip case to hold her apple ear buds.

It was so cute and so genius. I didn’t need to use it for that but I kept the size in mind for future projects and just this past weekend, had an ah-ha moment myself!

We are huge fans of playing the game memory in our house. I began creating personalized versions for the kiddos with their favorite characters and we have at least six versions that were hanging around the house in ziploc bags. The bags would rip and the cards would get mixed up. It just started to bug me how they were being stored but they were so small so finding a container wasn’t easy (especially one that was attractive!).

I decided to snag one of those travel size Q-tip cases in the travel toiletries section at Target. It was .97 and I simply removed the q-tips and added them to our large container. No waste!  AND, they fit inside perfectly!!!!!!!  I whipped up a label with some of the clip art I found to make the memory cards (free online from google) and added some text.

I was so thrilled, that I went back and snagged a bunch more! The container also comes in pink if you are looking for a more girly option! Now all of our memory games are stored safely away. They are easier to grab and throw into my purse or our travel activities bag. Wherever we bring these cases and games, kids flock to the boys side to join in. Love it!

There you have it! Such a simple idea inspired by such a wonderful blogger.

I am linking this up to:

Tip Junkie handmade projects

wednesday's wowzers

Comments

  1. What a great recycling idea. Visiting from Oopsey Daisy.

  2. WOW! Now that is smart! 🙂 I have often put my cards in plastic cassette tape cases, but this is very clever. Thanks for sharing at oopsey daisy!

    • Thanks Alison! I was amazed at how perfectly they fit. Thanks for stopping by and for hosting the link party-such amazing people sharing all this wonderful stuff!

Leave a Reply

